This is a guest blog I did for my friend and fellow writer, Michele Berger. She is doing a series on women writers who inspire us in her blog on creativity and asked me to guest blog. I recommend subscribing because she writes about great stuff.

The Practice of Creativity

Guest Post by Heidi Moore

I’ve just fallen into literary love with a writer I assumed was brand new, Edith Pearlman.When I finished reading her short story, “Tess,” I put down my iPad and sat still for a moment with the intense feeling it left me. It’s a difficult sensation to describe to those who haven’t yet learned to love the short story. The sensation feels as though an important truth about one corner of the whole world has been encapsulated in an exquisite, but simple, jewel that I have just held in my hands, and I want to know how it is possible the author could have constructed something so precious there.

Anyone who wants to know how to write, or even read, a short story would wisely begin with Pearlman. One reason her stories are so remarkable is Pearlman writes amazing sentences; these are sentences that tell a…

View original post 774 more words

One thought on “

  1. Pingback: Global Writing Revolution « My Baby Naturally

Leave a Reply

